The Perfect Steak

I stringently restrict red meat consumption in my household to no more than once every two weeks. Caleb and I both have family histories of heart disease; in my case, two grandparents dead by age 40 of sudden massive heart attacks. However, this does not mean I don’t enjoy red meat. There aren’t many things in life as sumptuous as a ribeye cooked to perfection or a melt-in-your-mouth medium-rare prime rib with all the juices surrounding it. 

As you may know, I do most of my produce shopping at the local farmers market. I also happen to buy meat there when available. Wishbone Heritage Farms of Ridgeville, SC is a favorite of mine; they grow and sell herbs, produce, duck eggs, quail eggs, duck, goose, pork, beef, whatever they have. I  recently picked up two huge and ever-so-lovely ribeyes from them as a treat for Caleb. I originally planned to save them for a special occasion, like his birthday or our upcoming anniversary but they were just asking to be eaten last night. Happy Monday steak night? – yes! 

I had just one small issue – no grill. How is this possible you ask? As recent college grads, a nice little grill just hasn’t happened yet. It’s such a shame during a beautiful South Carolina summer but we do alright without one. So what do you do when you have beautifully marbled, 1 1/2″ ribeyes and no grill? Well, you can just cook them stove-top or you can bake them. OR you can do a little of both. 

Basically all you have to do is coat the room temperature steak in olive oil, generously salt and pepper them, sear for 30 seconds on each side, then put under the broiler for two-three minutes on each side in a cast iron skillet. Click here for detailed instruction. 

These steaks were cooked to a perfect medium-rare and had a wonderful crust. I served with fennel-garlic mashed potatoes and brussels sprouts for a man-approved meal. Alas, I failed to take pictures. I’ll leave the details to your imagination. 

Leave a Reply

