Potato Cakes with Garlic Aioli

This weekend was the last weekend Caleb and I will be home for four weeks and his parents and younger sister came down to visit and volunteer during Matriculation Day at The Citadel. (Side note: his family are simple and unadventurous with their food.) Having taken on the role of the cook in the family, I tasked myself with making something simple for supper; I chose to make chicken marsala, roasted brussels sprouts, sauteed carrots and my special fennel mashed potatoes. There’s so much I could say about that supper, for which my family also joined us. All I’ll say is that the meal was fabulous, cooked traditionally with only fresh ingredients.

No matter how good mashed potatoes may be, they always seem to leave a bounty of leftovers. Being the Irish girl that I am, I knew just what to do with those leftovers – POTATO CAKES. These are by no means healthful but half of one potato cake is all I ever want and there’s no denying how delicious they are, especially topped with spoonful of garlic aioli or more traditionally with butter.

Potato Cakes

2 cups leftover mashed potatoes – please be sure to use good mashed potatoes, not the kind that have the consistency of baby food (I make mine with fennel and serve slightly chunky)
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted

Dough

The green you see is a bit of the fennel fronds that I add to my fennel mashed potatoes.

On a floured surface combine mashed potatoes, flour and salt with your hands. This will create a thick dough.

Form into a rough ball and quarter.

Shape the quartered dough into rounds that are about 1/2″ thick and 4-6″ inches wide.

Dough Formed

In a small pan, heat a couple tablespoons of butter over medium heat. One by one, cook cakes until golden or about 2-3 minutes on each side.

Cake in Pan

Finished Cake

Plated Single Cake

Sometimes the simple way is the best way.

Serve hot with a pad of butter or as I do, with garlic aioli. Click for the YouTube video instructional for the aioli I served. The guy gives a great tutorial that is both concise and informative. I added fresh chopped Italian parsley and basil, as well as a tad bit of dijon (as suggested) to mine.

Plate Potato Cake with Tomato

I like to eat mine with a sliced garden fresh tomato.

Plated Potato Cake

I served Caleb his with leftover chicken marsala. Italian meets Irish?

These are great for a filing breakfast, brunch, lunch, snack or anytime really. Don’t eat too many, though!

Leave a Reply

